The starting pageE-mailSite map  
 
 
   
 

The two meetings with Buck Klajton.

- - Oleg Leonidovitch, you promised to tell us how got acquainted with Buck Klajton, I think it is interesting to the readers.
- When the Japanese occupied the part of China, the life in Haierbin took such shape so that we decided to move to Shanghai. But to avoid precipitate actions Alex Kotyakov and I took a decision to go to Shanghai just for "reconnaissance", because there lived my aunt's husband Constantin Vladimirovitch Pakhitonov, so we had a place to settle and stay for some time.
- At that time a Negro Big Band under Teddy Vederford performed at "Cannidrome". Of course, we went for a concert and there we saw a handsome trumpeter Buck Klajton. We were amazed by the play of the musicians and went to listen to them for several days. We just ordered a bottle of beer "Tsingtao" for each of us and listened being absolutely stunned, namely Alex Kotyakov, as he was a trumpeter too.

- - Do you mean to say that you visited a master-class?
- - Of course, we were lucky, and we could study jazz not only by platters, but we also by listening to the best musicians.

Some time later Teddy Vederford left Shanghai. We heard the rumors about some romantic story, which was the reason of his early departure. After that the orchestra was headed by Buck Klajton. In one of those days we met our acquaintance - the pianist Michael Gleiser, who gave a letter of recommendation for us to play at the "Yangtze hotel" to play "tea-dance" which means "dances at tea". We signed the contract and after that all our musicians moved to us from Haierbin. That was our first work in Shanghai.

- - And what music did you play then?
- - We played all the songs from the Holiwood musicals.
- - And how did the audience meet you?
- - Surprising as it may seem, but we gained success and popularity, very many people came for our concerts.
- - And what kind music was that? The Russians or the Chinese?
- - The audience was very different. At that time in Shanghai there lived very many foreigners. They were the people of different nationalities, namely Russians and, of course, the rich Chinese.
- - Now lets pass to the other time. How did you manage to meet Buck Klajton for the second time?
- - It was already many years later, when we happened to be in USA at the jazz festival in Washington. George Avakyan acquainted us.

In the evening after the concert they came to me in my room at "Sharaton", and happened so that Buck Klajton had very well remembered us in Shanghai. He had immediately understood then that three youngsters who had come to the concerts every day are the musicians, as only young musicians could be so much intoxicated, listening to the music.

That was a very warm meeting, there were so many reminiscences…

To return on page
"The Stories from the Orchestra's Life"

 
 
The state chamber orchestra of jazz music under the controm Oleg Lundstrem 2004 (c)
Tel.: 007 (095) 263-8005; 007 (095) 264-3674; Tel./Fax: 007 (095) 264-3678

Стартовая страницаE-mailКарта сайта  
 
 
   
 

Две встречи с Баком Клейтоном.

- Олег Леонидович, вы обещали рассказать, как познакомились с Баком Клейтоном, думаю этот интересно читателям.
- Когда японцы оккупировали часть Китая, жизнь в Харбине складывалась так, что мы решили переехать в Шанхай. Но что бы не совершать опрометчивых поступков я, Алексей Котяков и Анатолий Мененков отправились в Шанхай на "разведку", так как там уже жил муж моей тетки, Константин Владимирович Пахитонов, и нам было, где остановиться.
В это время в Шанхае на "Каннидроме" выступал негритянский биг-бенд под управлением Тедди Ведерфорда. Конечно, мы пошли на концерт, там и увидели красавца трубача Бака Клейтона. Мы были потрясены игрой музыкантов и ходили их слушать несколько дней подряд. Просто заказывали по бутылочке пива "Тзиндао" и слушали, как завороженные, особенно Алексей Котяков, ведь он был трубачом.

- Значит, можно сказать, что вы посещали "мастер-класс"?
- Конечно, нам повезло, и мы могли учиться джазу не только по пластинкам, но и слушая лучших музыкантов.

Через некоторое время Тедди Ведерфорд покинул Шанхай. Ходили слухи о какой-то романтической истории, которая и послужила причиной скорого отъезда. После чего оркестром и стал руководить Бак Клейтон. В эти же дни мы встретили знакомого пианиста Михаила Глейзера, который рекомендовал нас в "Яндзы отель" играть "тиа данс", то есть "танцы за чаем". Мы подписали контракт, после чего к нам приехали все музыканты из Харбина. Это и была наша первая работа в Шанхае.

- А какую музыку вы исполняли?
- Мы играли все голливудские шлягеры.
- И как вас встречала публика?
- Удивительно, но мы сразу стали пользоваться успехом, приходило очень много людей.
- А какая это была публика? Русские или китайцы?
- Это была очень разная публика. В Шанхае в то время жило очень много иностранцев. Это были люди разных национальностей, в том числе и русские, ну и конечно, богатые китайцы.
- Теперь давайте перенесемся в другое время. Как же произошла встреча с Баком Клейтоном второй раз?
- Это было уже много лет спустя, когда мы оказались в США на джазовом фестивале в Вашингтоне. Нас познакомил Джордж Авакян.

Вечером, после концерта они зашли ко мне в номер отеля "Шаратон", и тут оказалось, что Бак Клейтон нас очень хорошо запомнил по Шанхаю. Он тогда сразу понял, что три юнца, которые каждый день приходят на концерты - музыканты, так как только молодые музыканты могли так заворожено, часами слушать музыку.

Это была очень теплая встреча, много воспоминаний…

Интервью взято Н. Б. Брыксиной

Вернуться в раздел
"Истории из жизни оркестра"

 
 
Государственный камерный оркестр джазовой музыки имени Олега Лундстрема 2002-2013 (c)
 
 
Яндекс.Метрика Портал Джаз.Ру - все о джазе по-русски